Skip to main content

Representing more than 6,000 collegiate chapters and 250,000 fraternity members globally, each year the North American Interfraternity Conference (NIC) recognizes young men who exemplify leadership, service and fraternal values with the Undergraduate Award of Distinction.

“It’s essentially the equivalent of Greek Man of the Year,” said NIC President and CEO Jud Horras, Iowa State ’97, who spoke in Dallas at Thursday’s 184th General Convention Kickoff program.

Not one, but two brothers of Beta Theta Pi are among the 12 honorees this year: Nathan Satterfield, Michigan ’23, and Chuck Perry, Truman State ’22. Once emerging leaders on campus, they’ve proven to be men of principle.

“The chances one person [out of a quarter-of-a-million fraternity collegians] has to win this award is 0.00004%,” Horras said. “The chances of an organization winning two is nearly unprecedented.”

Nathan Satterfield, Michigan ’23

Nathan has always been the perfect man to turn to when looking for a leader. He humbly led the chapter through the height of the COVID-19 pandemic, through the process and implementation of reopening campus to student activities. Among them were of the most important: planning, organizing and executing the Lambda Chapter’s 175th anniversary celebration. Nathan crafted a very meaningful experience for students, alumni, staff and faculty that honored public health guidelines while gathering in person for a very momentous occasion.

Nathan’s ability to lead was realized his freshman year when he received Emerging Leader Award from Michigan’s office of fraternity and sorority life. Nathan served as a member of the Eligibility Requirement Analysis Committee examining the eligibility requirements for first year student participation in recruitment. His tireless work for the interfraternal community at Michigan did not go unnoticed; he was elected as the third-consecutive Beta to serve as Interfraternity Council (IFC) president in 2022.

Also instrumental in shaping the future of the Fraternity, Nathan has served two terms as an Undergraduate Commissioner, representing his collegiate peers alongside members of the General Fraternity House Corporation. He has offered the student perspective on housing strategies, advocating for safe and comfortable chapter facilities for all members. He’s made an impact on younger brothers of the Beta too, facilitating a session of the John and Nellie Wooden Institute for Men of Principle this summer.

Chuck Perry, Truman State ’22

Every student in the community knows Chuck. They know he is a hard worker, wants the best for the Greek community and plays a key role in making things happen. Brother Chuck has worked tirelessly within his chapter, Truman State’s IFC and the entire campus community to ensure the best fraternity experience is available to students, all while maintaining a 4.0 GPA during his entire undergraduate career.

In 2021, he received the campus IFC Emerging Leader Award, and this is proof of why he was deserving. Brother Chuck continued to develop as the leader needed by his chapter; he promoted the Beta experience as the marketing chairman and moulded future brothers of the chapter as vice president of education. His ability to listen to others, create a plan and put it into action served his chapter and community well.

Past Recipients

2023 — Nathan Satterfield, Michigan ’23, Undergraduate Award of Distinction
2023 — Chuck Perry, Truman State ’22, Undergraduate Award of Distinction
2021 — Ian Ross, Michigan ’21, Undergraduate Award of Distinction
2021 — Jen Zamora, Delta Zeta, Advisor Award of Distinction (Chapter Counselor, Texas)
2020 — Epsilon Chapter, Centre College, Chapter Award of Distinction
2019 — David Navadeh, Cornell ’19, Undergraduate Award of Distinction
2018 — Epsilon Omicron Chapter, University of Kentucky, Chapter Award of Distinction
2018 — Jack Schimpf, Missouri ’18, Undergraduate Award of Distinction
2017 — Alpha Tau Chapter, University of Nebraska, Chapter Award of Distinction
2017 — Epsilon Chapter, Centre College, Chapter Award of Distinction
2017 — Dr. Rob Tigner, Phi Gamma Delta, Advisor Award of Distinction (Chapter Counselor, Truman State)
2015 — Gamma Beta Chapter, University of Utah, Chapter Award of Distinction
2012 — Dr. Tom Purinton, Kansas State ’63, Advisor Award of Distinction
2012 — T.J. Bard Penn State ’13, Undergraduate Award of Distinction
2011 — Zeta Omega Chapter, University of San Diego, Chapter Award of Distinction

Close Menu