Skip to main content

Francis W. Shepardson Award

Beta’s highest award for service to the Fraternity

About the Francis W. Shepardson Award

The Board of Trustees developed the Francis W. Shepardson award in May 2001 to recognize brothers who embody the spirit and dedication of Brother Shepardson and epitomize the concept of lifelong service to the General Fraternity. Each honoree receives a handsome full-lead crystal cup featuring the coat of arms and the recipient’s name, chapter and class year.
Often referred to as “Mr. Beta Theta Pi,” Francis W. Shepardson, Denison 1882/Brown 1883, served as General Secretary for ten years and General Fraternity President for 20 years after that. While president, he also edited The Beta Theta Pi for 13 years. Shepardson was a dominant force in the Fraternity from 1910 until he died in 1937. He is one of the two most prolific Beta writers with at least five books.

Shepardson Awardees

Close Menu